Vanuatu is one of the most diverse countries in the world. The word “Vanuatu” means “Land Eternal”, so apt for this beautiful, unspoiled paradise. Its people are mainly Melanesian, with more than 115 distinct different cultures and languages.

Vanuatu used to be called the New Hebrides but has now been an independent Republic since 1980. It is made up of more than 83 separate Islands and straddles what is known as the “Pacific Ring Of Fire”.

Facts about Vanuatu

Official Name Republic of Vanuatu

Population 234,023

Capital City Port-Vila

Languages English, French, Pidgin, and numerous local dialects

Official Currency Vatu

Religions Presbyterian, Anglican, others

Land Area 12,190 sq km (4,707 sq miles)

Latitude/Longitude 17 74S, 168 31E

Highest Point Mount Tabwemanasana stands at 6,165 ft. (1,879 m)

Our flag

The flag of Vanuatu was officially adopted on February 18, 1990.

The Vanuatu chain of islands is in the shape of a Y, and the yellow horizontal Y on the flag is representative of the islands as well as yellow being symbolic of sunshine, green symbolic of the fertile lands, red symbolic of bloodshed for freedom, and black being representative of the Melanesian people that originally settled in the islands.

Map of Vanuatu

Vanuatu is a 'Y' shaped archipelago of 83 islands. It is located about 1,750 kilometers east of Australia.

WORKREADY-VANUATU | © All rights reserved

WORKREADY-VANUATU | © All rights reserved